This image is collection of reference materials and resources to assist our study and expression of the Subtle Realm.

It is not complete and is only meant to help facilitate learning, discussion and exploration.  Please note that after a long history of multiple models of the chakras from a variety of schools, this is the map that won.


Chakra means “wheel” or “circle”. The chakras are dynamic vortices of prana where the nadis converge. Attention to these centers is believed to assist in awakening our consciousness to deeper and more subtle dimensions within ourselves and the cosmos. Specifically, the chakras are believed to assist in moving the prana between the physical, astral and causal realms.

Just as our collective hip joints differ slightly in their shape, flexibility and strength, so do our chakras. And just as our hip joints perform basically the same function, so do our chakras. And just as we have a choice to allow our hips to tighten and close or open and move, so we also have the choice to ignore or connect and develop a relationship with our chakras.

Allow the information about the chakras to be there when you need it. Filling our minds with facts about the chakras does not draw us any closer. In fact, knowing the data can create an illusion of intimacy. Like reading books about swimming, nothing compares to diving in.


Some Ideas About the Chakras

1. Muladhara Chakra

  • Root Chakra
  • Element: Earth
  • Motor Organ: Anus
  • Sense Organ: Nose
  • Meaning: root place or base
  • Seed Sound: LAM

2. Svadhisthana Charka

  • Sacral Chakra
  • Element: Water
  • Motor Organ: Uro-genital organs
  • Sense Organ: Tongue
  • Meaning: that which cannot be controlled
  • Seed Sound: VAM

3. Manipura Chakra

  • Navel Chakra
  • Element: Fire
  • Motor Organ: Feet
  • Sense Organ: Eyes
  • Meaning: city of jewels
  • Seed Sound: RAM

Original Image Source: Bihar School of India

“When the bird and the book disagree, always believe the bird.”
~ James Audubon (1785-1851)


4. Anahata Chakra

  • Heart Chakra
  • Element: Air
  • Motor Organ: Hands
  • Sense Organ: Skin
  • Meaning: unstruck sound or unbeaten, unbroken
  • Seed Sound: YAM

5. Vishudda Chakra

  • Throat Chakra
  • Element: Ether
  • Motor Organ: Vocal Cords
  • Sense Organ: Ears
  • Meaning: to purify, center of nectar
  • Seed Sound: HAM

6. Ajna Chakra

  • Third Eye Chakra
  • Meaning: command center, seat of wisdom and intuition
  • Seed Sound: OM

7. Sahasrara Chakra

  • Crown Chakra
  • Meaning: thousand petal lotus
  • Seed Sound: OM